Home
Downloads
Community
Submit
Marketplace

Running MAME on a Windows XP PC advice needed

Come here if you are having PC gaming related issues

Running MAME on a Windows XP PC advice needed

Postby CaptainAges » Mon Mar 19, 2018 4:38 pm

Hi everyone, former member here

I am planning to run MAME on a windows XP DELL Dimension C521 with an AMD 64 Athlon.
PC build year is 2003.
The PC has never been online so has not been updated.

I only plan to run 16 bit era games on it but might give some Dreamcast a go later down the line.

Which version of MAME would be best for this type of PC?

Internet searches are coming up with way too much information and conflicting advice.
As i said, I was a member here about 4-5 years ago so i know theres some knowledgeable users around :lovetiz:

Cheers
  • 0

User avatar
CaptainAges Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2018 4:30 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Reputation: 0

Re: Running MAME on a Windows XP PC advice needed

Postby Jodo901 » Mon Mar 19, 2018 4:56 pm

I think the version of MAME you want depends mostly on the level of roms/chd you might want to run. If you're running the 4GB max (3.5gb for XP x86) for the system you should be able to run most games pretty smoothly. Newer versions of MAME support more games and more recent games, but any version should run on your system. If you really only want older games like Donkey Kong and Ms Pac Man any version of MAME should run fine.
  • 0

I have always been here
User avatar
Jodo901 9
 
Posts: 2501
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 8:48 pm
Location: USA
Reputation: 2463

Re: Running MAME on a Windows XP PC advice needed

Postby CaptainAges » Mon Mar 19, 2018 5:09 pm

Thanks that's really helpful, I wasn't sure if there was an issue with newer versions of MAME.
But if it's mostly dependant on what games you run I think everything should be ok.

I know PC dreamcast ports run fine on the system as I have a couple installed.
  • 0

User avatar
CaptainAges Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2018 4:30 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Reputation: 0

Re: Running MAME on a Windows XP PC advice needed

Postby ZX81v2 » Mon Mar 19, 2018 5:18 pm

MAX 0.141 32bit

Latest MAME you need 3GHz PC just to get most of the games running...
Older versions are good

This may suite : http://theisozone.com/downloads/misc/fu ... disk-1of3/

MAME 151
  • 0

PS2 (Phat) + Network Adapter + SATA Bridge + 2TB HDD = Insanity+1 !
Wanna Know More > theisozone.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=75&t=49420&hilit=+sata

FreeMCBoot Installer - OPL 0.8/9 + HDL0.8c
Game Compatibility Checker. WinHIIP User
ZX81v2's MAME/ARCADE Thread Here
FreeMCBoot Install Service "UK" Thread HERE
MY PS2 OPL 0.8 HDD Game Compatibility List Click Here 100% Safe

Latest MESS/MAME Roms : Retroroms.info < NEW SITE !

ImageImageImageImage

If you are/WERE a PS2 Developer please check PS2Home out !
Designed & (C)2013-2017 by ZX81v2
User avatar
ZX81v2 Moderator
 
Posts: 8162
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 6:02 pm
Location: EARTH - SOL System - Mostly Harmless
Custom Title: R Tape Loading Err0r
Reputation: 50896

Re: Running MAME on a Windows XP PC advice needed

Postby FlarePhoenix » Mon Mar 19, 2018 7:21 pm

Basically use rule of thumb for which games to play depending on your pc build. Anything made before 1995 runs almost like it should(well mame wise at least) after 1996 and up, If it looks 3dish or big game, expect higher specs(unless it's nonworking then don't bother till its fixed). I know games like gauntlet legends require 3gb ram and dual core to run in mame. Street fighter 3 requires more...if it's working.
  • 0

User avatar
FlarePhoenix 9
 
Posts: 2026
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 9:16 pm
Reputation: 5972

Re: Running MAME on a Windows XP PC advice needed

Postby Dildo_Schwaggins » Mon Mar 19, 2018 11:02 pm

mame mame32pp0.119
  • 0

User avatar
Dildo_Schwaggins 4
 
Posts: 296
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2017 5:59 am
Reputation: 386

Re: Running MAME on a Windows XP PC advice needed

Postby Jodo901 » Tue Mar 20, 2018 12:11 am

On a side note, you may want to look into XP 64-bit for the Athlon 64 especially if you do have 4GB. 32-bit XP can only use 3.5GB. It's my favorite OS for those early 64 bit systems, and you can easily find the iso and service pack for download.
  • 0

I have always been here
User avatar
Jodo901 9
 
Posts: 2501
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 8:48 pm
Location: USA
Reputation: 2463

Re: Running MAME on a Windows XP PC advice needed

Postby ZX81v2 » Tue Mar 20, 2018 12:17 am

I never found a 64bit xp that was stable
  • 0

PS2 (Phat) + Network Adapter + SATA Bridge + 2TB HDD = Insanity+1 !
Wanna Know More > theisozone.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=75&t=49420&hilit=+sata

FreeMCBoot Installer - OPL 0.8/9 + HDL0.8c
Game Compatibility Checker. WinHIIP User
ZX81v2's MAME/ARCADE Thread Here
FreeMCBoot Install Service "UK" Thread HERE
MY PS2 OPL 0.8 HDD Game Compatibility List Click Here 100% Safe

Latest MESS/MAME Roms : Retroroms.info < NEW SITE !

ImageImageImageImage

If you are/WERE a PS2 Developer please check PS2Home out !
Designed & (C)2013-2017 by ZX81v2
User avatar
ZX81v2 Moderator
 
Posts: 8162
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 6:02 pm
Location: EARTH - SOL System - Mostly Harmless
Custom Title: R Tape Loading Err0r
Reputation: 50896

Re: Running MAME on a Windows XP PC advice needed

Postby Jodo901 » Tue Mar 20, 2018 4:04 am

Hmmm, the first Athlon 64 PC I built was XP 64. I've used it on about 5 systems total and they've all run extremely stable. Even more than XP 32bit in some cases. The biggest issue I had with them was the poor driver support.
  • 0

I have always been here
User avatar
Jodo901 9
 
Posts: 2501
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 8:48 pm
Location: USA
Reputation: 2463

Re: Running MAME on a Windows XP PC advice needed

Postby CaptainAges » Fri Mar 23, 2018 12:33 am

Hi guys thanks for all the responses, actually having a bit of a nightmare getting any version of MAME to work correctly at all.

Most common problem is the ''is not a valid win32 application'' error when booting the .exe application.
MAME 32 bit runs ok but seems to have an issue finding any of the roms.

Still messing about with it, but may just settle for running KEGA fusion which is working fine at the moment.
I'm probably just going to go with that and a couple of others for the 16 bit systems, just waiting for a couple of usb sega pads now.

Not a huge problem just a pain to have separate emulators for everything..
  • 0

User avatar
CaptainAges Newbie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2018 4:30 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Reputation: 0


Return to Troubleshooting



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests



Home | Legal Notice | DMCA Policy | DMCA File Removal Center | Contact