Home
Downloads
Community
Submit
Marketplace

The Iso Zone

Need To Reflash My 360?

Discuss the Xbox 360 here. General discussion, troublshooting, guides and more.

Need To Reflash My 360?

Postby metroid » Mon May 21, 2018 1:31 am

Many years ago I had flashed my 360's drive by myself (when I had a desktop pc) - went thru the entire process of opening the system, my desktop, connecting it etc.
Shortly after that some of my stupid friends connected my 360 to the net and ran some updates for Madden football game they were trying to play and I seemingly lost my flashed console.

My question: is there any easy way to roll it back and get my flashed drive back? I'm assuming not, but flashing that drive was a pain in the ass and I don't think I have any means to do it over again now anyway. Is there any easy way to get back to where I was?

Any recommendations welcomed.
  • 0

User avatar
metroid 4
 
Posts: 210
Joined: Wed May 09, 2018 11:22 pm
Custom Title: The last Metroid is in captivity.
Reputation: 500

Re: Need To Reflash My 360?

Postby oldxbox75 » Mon May 21, 2018 5:03 am

From what I know once the update was done they had blocked any exploits from being written to the console.
This includes chips firmware up/downdrades unless they were digitally signed by MS.

Basically now you console is locked back to retail only.!
You could open it up and try reflashing it but I will doubt you will be very successful.

Might be easier to track down another one that has no upgrades and flash that .!
If it has not been done already.!
  • 10

User avatar
oldxbox75 6
 
Posts: 722
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2014 2:00 pm
Reputation: 2048

Re: Need To Reflash My 360?

Postby TheTechDoc » Mon May 21, 2018 9:13 am

You can flash on any firmware these days, however there's no way to "roll back" as it were and just get your hack back, you'll need to do it again from scratch, but I recommend going for an RGH mod if you plan to do so as drive flashing is very outdated and as long as you don't care about Xbox live, the benifits outway the cons 200 fold
  • 0

Spoiler:
2x xbox w/IND bios +1tb hdd/80gb hdd
1x ps2 slim w/fcmb 1x ps2 phat w/fhdb
1x ps1 chipped
gamecube w/sd launcher
psp 1000,go with cfw
2x dslite and dsphat w r4i/acekard2i
gameboy original/pocket/color/advance/sp/micro
2x wii w/softmod
snes
nes
n64
360 jasper RGH CR4 XL
360 slim RGH CR4 XL
PS Vita 3.60 with Henkaku
3DS 9.2.0 CFW Emunand RXtools/luma3ds
Sega dreamcast
Sega Saturn
Wiiu w/CFW 5.5.1
PS4 5.05 Jailbreak 1TB
User avatar
TheTechDoc 8
 
Posts: 1554
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2014 5:57 am
Location: Australia
Custom Title: Put away those fiery biscuits!
Reputation: 4381

Re: Need To Reflash My 360?

Postby metroid » Mon May 21, 2018 10:37 am

That's what I was afraid of. Most likely not installing any physical mod chips. Not good with the soldering iron (Dont even have one at the moment anyway) So I think a softmod is what I'd have to settle for. But connecting that thing to my mobo with the SATA cables was a PITA... I hated doing it.

I guess my options are limited otherwise, right?

@TheTechDoc - I'd be curious to at least look into a RGH mod to see more of what its about. Could you point me in a good starters direction please? Or any other useful tips you dont mind sharing would be much appreciated :)
  • 0

User avatar
metroid 4
 
Posts: 210
Joined: Wed May 09, 2018 11:22 pm
Custom Title: The last Metroid is in captivity.
Reputation: 500

Re: Need To Reflash My 360?

Postby aliens8us » Mon May 21, 2018 3:58 pm

I got my Xbox 360 RGH modded recently. I still have to play around with it as it has two different Dashboards installed. You can PM me directly and I can send you the contact that I went with. But if you want some ‘visual guidance’, hop on YouTube and look up the Modded Warfare. He’s extremely detailed with explaining things with his tutorials
  • 0

* Xbox Modded Console 2TB (Ninja Premium)
* Xbox 360 S RGH Modded Console 500GB
* Nintendo Wii Modded Console (SNES,NES, Genesis, GBA, GC)
* Playstation 2 Slim/modified (FreeMcBoot)
* Non-modified: Xbox One 2TB, PS1 Slim, PS3 500gb, Sega Dreamcast
Image
Image
Image
User avatar
aliens8us 3
 
Posts: 199
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2012 1:49 am
Location: Cleveland, OH
Custom Title: TK-16309
Reputation: 390

Re: Need To Reflash My 360?

Postby nornor1 » Mon May 21, 2018 4:10 pm

not sure how long that was, but if you gonna flash your 360 drive, I dont think you can burn games like you used to. you have to have a special Burner and can only use a certain Verbatim dvd-dl disc type. thats the last I heard on the latest iXtreme FW? I have that modified burner :)

360 games are mostly cheap right now, Im sure the games you would want to play are dirt cheap.
  • 0

Systems I own:
Spoiler:
2 DC's W & B 1 GDEMU
N64 Rgb Mod- w/ED64
PSONE w/screen- Chipped
PS2 Phat & Slim(w/Joytech LCD) both Chipped
Ps3 2x SS
Ps4
Xbox OG-Tsop flashed 2gb HDD
X360 & slim-Ixtreme
XbOneX
Sega Saturn-Chipped
Wii- modded
Wii-U
New 3ds XL
Pspgo- cfw
Ps Vita-Enzo
NES RGB mod w/ED
JVC X'EYE w/32x/Mega ED
SNES Jr.-Rgb mod w/SD2Snes
Pc-E Duo R. w/Turbo ED
NeoGeo MVS w/NeoSD.

Trustworthy Traders:
Spoiler:
emotimmyturn
turfster
reverendjohnnyblaze
ficeto001
XC-3730C
bahamutfan64
catch_2030
DreamcastDude1999
Dreamcast459
blakd3th
Superrayman3
psydefx
WARE-WOLF
SumOfAllFear5
User avatar
nornor1 6
 
Posts: 706
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2015 5:22 pm
Reputation: 2824

Re: Need To Reflash My 360?

Postby GamingWizardC75 » Mon May 21, 2018 5:15 pm

360 are super cheap right now. Best way to find games are garage sales and looking online.
  • 0

Always Save The Best For Last.

Systems I Currently Own:

Xbox One X
PS4 Slim
Xbox 360 Slim
Playstation 3 Slim with a 500 GB HDD
Sega Sports Dreamcast
Playstation 1-Need To Get It Out Of Storage
Playstation 2-Needs A New Laser
Sega Genesis Ultimate Portable Game Player
User avatar
GamingWizardC75 3
 
Posts: 167
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2017 3:31 am
Custom Title: I Am Groot!
Reputation: 1505

Re: Need To Reflash My 360?

Postby metroid » Mon May 21, 2018 9:30 pm

Damn. Yes all of my games are on burnt discs. I used to play them directly from the disc thru the disc drive.

So even if I attempted to flash this drive theres no guarantee my old games will work? That sucks if true.
  • 0

User avatar
metroid 4
 
Posts: 210
Joined: Wed May 09, 2018 11:22 pm
Custom Title: The last Metroid is in captivity.
Reputation: 500

Re: Need To Reflash My 360?

Postby metroid » Mon May 28, 2018 7:25 pm

By the way, if I attempted to flash the drive again, why would the discs not work? Does the current flashing method render them useless or something?
  • 0

User avatar
metroid 4
 
Posts: 210
Joined: Wed May 09, 2018 11:22 pm
Custom Title: The last Metroid is in captivity.
Reputation: 500

Re: Need To Reflash My 360?

Postby cruzer » Sun Jun 10, 2018 7:34 am

Why not just send it to someone to RGH it for you? Cost you about $50 to get it done right. Stay away from the kids though. A lot of them are doing it, and shorting out consoles, due to the inability to solder. I have cleaned up a lot of mess over the past 6-7 years
  • 0

User avatar
cruzer 3
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 5:09 pm
Location: California
Custom Title: The Glitcher
Reputation: 95

Re: Need To Reflash My 360?

Postby metroid » Sun Jun 10, 2018 2:41 pm

cruzer wrote:Why not just send it to someone to RGH it for you? Cost you about $50 to get it done right. Stay away from the kids though. A lot of them are doing it, and shorting out consoles, due to the inability to solder. I have cleaned up a lot of mess over the past 6-7 years

Yea i know, definitely an option for me. I wish I could take it to some local shop but I have no idea how to find one around here that could do it.
  • 0

User avatar
metroid 4
 
Posts: 210
Joined: Wed May 09, 2018 11:22 pm
Custom Title: The last Metroid is in captivity.
Reputation: 500

Re: Need To Reflash My 360?

Postby cruzer » Tue Jun 12, 2018 5:03 am

metroid wrote:
cruzer wrote:Why not just send it to someone to RGH it for you? Cost you about $50 to get it done right. Stay away from the kids though. A lot of them are doing it, and shorting out consoles, due to the inability to solder. I have cleaned up a lot of mess over the past 6-7 years

Yea i know, definitely an option for me. I wish I could take it to some local shop but I have no idea how to find one around here that could do it.


I can always do it for you ;)
  • 0

User avatar
cruzer 3
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 5:09 pm
Location: California
Custom Title: The Glitcher
Reputation: 95

Re: Need To Reflash My 360?

Postby metroid » Mon Jun 25, 2018 12:46 am

cruzer wrote:
metroid wrote:
cruzer wrote:Why not just send it to someone to RGH it for you? Cost you about $50 to get it done right. Stay away from the kids though. A lot of them are doing it, and shorting out consoles, due to the inability to solder. I have cleaned up a lot of mess over the past 6-7 years

Yea i know, definitely an option for me. I wish I could take it to some local shop but I have no idea how to find one around here that could do it.


I can always do it for you ;)

Would I have to mail it out to you? Want to PM me details? :D
  • 0

User avatar
metroid 4
 
Posts: 210
Joined: Wed May 09, 2018 11:22 pm
Custom Title: The last Metroid is in captivity.
Reputation: 500


Return to Xbox 360



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests



Home | Legal Notice | DMCA Policy | DMCA File Removal Center | Contact