Home
Downloads
Community
Submit
Marketplace

Do you still enjoy first-person shooters?

Discuss Your Favourite Games, Games You Are Currently Playing or Games You Never Want to Play Again!

Do you still enjoy first-person shooters?

Postby VoodooVincent » Fri Feb 23, 2018 10:32 pm

I'll admit, FPS games have always been some of my favorite (or just first-person games in general), however I started to get a bit tired of them towards the end of last generation. Call of Duty games began to bore me as soon as I started playing them. I typically prefer first-person games that immerse you in their environments & let you move off the beaten path a little bit. I'm fine with linear games, however I absolutely hate games that just have you pushing forward. For example, I played the last Call of Duty, WWII -- which, by the way, I was excited about the return to history -- but it was a terrible game that was scripted and linear to the point that it felt like nothing more than a rollercoaster ride, and not a very good one. There was one level, a stealth mission, which was rather solid, but the rest of the game was as boring & standard as a Call of Duty game can get. All of that said, I have enjoyed quite a few FPS titles this generation:

If you haven't played this Call of Duty, play it. First of all, it's unlike the rest of them. It's science fiction like Advanced Warfare, however it's exponentially better than that game. It has a hub, allowing for a bit more openness to the campaign, giving you side missions if you wish to complete them. Secondly, the story & characters are actually good. Thirdly, the graphics & how detailed everything is immerses you in the environments. Lastly, ex-Naughty Dog people worked on it & it shows in the quality of the game. This is the only Call of Duty title I've enjoyed this generation. Quite frankly, it's the best since Black Ops, IMO, which was the best since COD2. I wasn't a Modern Warfare fan, if I'm being honest.