Home
Downloads
Community
Submit
Marketplace

Emulators do you use them?

Discuss Your Favourite Games, Games You Are Currently Playing or Games You Never Want to Play Again!

Emulators do you use them?

Postby HeX4 » Sun Mar 18, 2018 2:07 am

I myself do but after slowly building up my older collections games are surprisingly worse emulated in my opinion and it's for 1 reason.

Accuracy, timing, input latency & CPU bugs.

For a long time I would back up the emulation hype and well I am not against anyone who does either.

Today I played Crash Bandicoot wrath of Cortex on my BC PS3 and it felt so right, Vs the emulator it literally walks away with how accurate it was and the amazing feel of weighty yet low latency controls which is a very hard thing for emulators to get right seemingly.

Graphically I would not call PCSX2 better, sure it upscales graphics but it looks ugly with the blend filter needing to be on due to the way PS2 games are rendered. On top of this the vibrancy and sound clarity experienced on the PS3 actually smashed PCSX2 into oblivion for me.


This is my opinion, thought I would share it :)
  • 10

Main computer.
Intel Xeon E5640, 8GB Kingston 1600, ASUS P6X58D-E, AMD R9 Fury.

Console systems.
Playstation 2 Slim with FMCB.
Playstation 3 CECHC03 Rebug 4.82 2000GB
XBOX v1.2/3 EvoX M8+ TSOP 500GB SATA
XBOX v1.4 iND-Bios 5003.67 TSOP 300GB
XBOX v1.4 x2.4981.67 TSOP 8GB
XBOX 360 S Trinity V5 320GB
N64
User avatar
HeX4 4
 
Posts: 335
Joined: Sat May 21, 2016 8:13 am
Custom Title: XBOX Guru PC aficionado
Reputation: 1509

Re: Emulators do you use them?

Postby Randummy1 » Sun Mar 18, 2018 2:21 am

I use them due to lack of money right now.
  • 10

Successfully traded with Vga for PS2 Softmod Kit.
User avatar
Randummy1 6
 
Posts: 702
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2012 3:03 am
Location: I live in Rando Zone where they like me there.
Custom Title: Dinosaur farting dust bunnies :)
Reputation: 4082

Re: Emulators do you use them?

Postby Urkman1 » Sun Mar 18, 2018 2:27 am

Lack of money and space for consoles.
I have a PC, PS3, PS4 and a Switch, and for things not on those there's few games I want to play that can't be emulated.
  • 10

User avatar
Urkman1 Moderator
 
Posts: 1171
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2011 11:50 am
Location: Alaska
Custom Title: y tho
Reputation: 2402

Re: Emulators do you use them?

Postby nornor1 » Sun Mar 18, 2018 2:47 am

I know that you can emulate consoles past the ps1, N64, ETC. but everything else under the 32 bit is pretty much perfect. all you need is the USB converter for the real controller to your PC or raspberry pi, and 98% of users would never tell the difference if you did not tell them.

Its Just amazing how now you can emulate all the old consoles on a raspberry pi. when I play on mine, it almost makes you want to sell all your old consoles. they even make "Hats" for the pi so you can outbut S-video, component, or scart.

I have nothing against it. Im more of an everdrive guy. I used to collect discs and carts. now I just get an everdrive, or ODE if available.

Ive been picking up PS3 games lately. they are cheap.
  • 40

Systems I own:
Spoiler:
2 DC's W & B 1 GDEMU
N64 Rgb Mod- w/ED64
PSONE w/screen- Chipped
PS2 Phat & Slim(w/Joytech LCD) both Chipped
Ps3 2x SS
Ps4
Xbox OG-Tsop flashed 2gb HDD
X360 & slim-Ixtreme
XbOneX
Sega Saturn-Chipped
Wii- modded
Wii-U
New 3ds XL
Pspgo- cfw
Ps Vita-Enzo
NES RGB mod w/ED
JVC X'EYE w/32x/Mega ED
SNES Jr.-Rgb mod w/SD2Snes
Pc-E Duo R. w/Turbo ED
NeoGeo MVS w/NeoSD.

Trustworthy Traders:
Spoiler:
emotimmyturn
turfster
reverendjohnnyblaze
ficeto001
XC-3730C
bahamutfan64
catch_2030
DreamcastDude1999
Dreamcast459
blakd3th
Superrayman3
psydefx
WARE-WOLF
SumOfAllFear5
User avatar
nornor1 6
 
Posts: 695
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2015 5:22 pm
Reputation: 2714

Re: Emulators do you use them?

Postby XamX » Sun Mar 18, 2018 2:48 am

Yes. I use them a lot.
  • 10

User avatar
XamX 6
 
Posts: 958
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 11:47 am
Reputation: 7235

Re: Emulators do you use them?

Postby TheTechDoc » Sun Mar 18, 2018 2:52 am

Older generation systems are fine with things like SNES , NES , megadrive etc, they are basically perfect unless your a speedrunner or someone who's incredibly OCD about perfect 1:1 timing,

But yeah newer systems such as GameCube and ps2 are better off on physical hardware, GameCube less so but still it's better,

To me emulation is convenience, I have a lounge pc (the Ybox2) that I built (it's on my Instagram under thetechdoc_mods if your interested) and it plays not only AAA steam games with the 960 that's in it, but I've got maximus arcade setup with every system since the dawn of time all the way up to ps2 and GameCube emulated,

If I want to play a game with some people when they come over , it's my go to over the actual consoles which takes setting up controllers, game discs, HDDs etc per each game we want to play, my Ybox2, back to menu, load smash Bros, back to menu, God of war etc etc
  • 40

Spoiler:
2x xbox w/IND bios +1tb hdd/80gb hdd
1x ps2 slim w/fcmb 1x ps2 phat w/fhdb
1x ps1 chipped
gamecube w/sd launcher
psp 1000,go with cfw
2x dslite and dsphat w r4i/acekard2i
gameboy original/pocket/color/advance/sp/micro
2x wii w/softmod
snes
nes
n64
360 jasper RGH CR4 XL
360 slim RGH CR4 XL
PS Vita 3.60 with Henkaku
3DS 9.2.0 CFW Emunand RXtools/luma3ds
Sega dreamcast
Sega Saturn
Wiiu w/CFW 5.5.1
PS4 5.05 Jailbreak 1TB
User avatar
TheTechDoc 8
 
Posts: 1554
Joined: Fri Sep 26, 2014 5:57 am
Location: Australia
Custom Title: Put away those fiery biscuits!
Reputation: 4381

Re: Emulators do you use them?

Postby FlarePhoenix » Sun Mar 18, 2018 3:27 am

Yes I do, even dosbox.....yeah it's an emulator. I use a real psp, to play Gameboy and nes games all the time. I'm using dolphin and pcsx2(and ppsspp) cause why not. It's not perfect, but it's still fun, ain't that what games are about.
  • 10

User avatar
FlarePhoenix 9
 
Posts: 2107
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 9:16 pm
Reputation: 6649

Re: Emulators do you use them?

Postby Jason360player » Sun Mar 18, 2018 4:59 am

Does anyone know what N64 emulator works the best for Xbox? I have Surreal64CE B5.52u and B6.0. I think it is a pain in the ass when you have to select from 2 sets of 3 option configurations and hope you picked the right combination to get your game to play without glitching. ~~~ I know that is only 9 different combinations to guess at but it is frustrating when you have to reset and reload your Xbox when you choose wrong.
IS THERE A SIMPLER N64 EMULATOR THAT WILL ALLOW ME TO PLAY THE GAMES?
  • 0

Jason360player Newbie
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2016 7:37 pm
Reputation: 0

Re: Emulators do you use them?

Postby Dragon_Mech » Sun Mar 18, 2018 6:03 am

i have been using emulators as far back as 1998. i have emulators for consoles(NES,SNES,Genesis etc..) and computers(minivmac, dosbox, WinUAE etc....). i mostly have them so i can play the games that i was not able to as a kid because my family couldn't afford them. i also use them to introduce my niece and nephew to the games and systems that i grew up with. for me, roms and emulators are a way of keeping gaming history (and memories) alive.
  • 10

my systems:
2x NES, SNES, N64, Wii, 2x GBA, GB micro, PSX, GameGear,
Atari Flashback 2, ATGames Sega Genesis (A.K.A Firecore in europe).
User avatar
Dragon_Mech 2
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2018 11:02 pm
Location: in front of my screen o.0
Custom Title: Owner Dragonic Machine Industries (D.M.I)
Reputation: 190

Re: Emulators do you use them?

Postby EarthwormJames » Sun Mar 18, 2018 7:14 am

Jason360player wrote:Does anyone know what N64 emulator works the best for Xbox? I have Surreal64CE B5.52u and B6.0. I think it is a pain in the ass when you have to select from 2 sets of 3 option configurations and hope you picked the right combination to get your game to play without glitching. ~~~ I know that is only 9 different combinations to guess at but it is frustrating when you have to reset and reload your Xbox when you choose wrong.
IS THERE A SIMPLER N64 EMULATOR THAT WILL ALLOW ME TO PLAY THE GAMES?

Last link in my sig man, made it myself. Took me a year, not a rookie job. With N64 it's extremely important you use the no intro romset. The quality of the rom is much more important than it is for any other system. And 6.0 is the best. It was discarded by most, but I definitely found it to be the most versatile.

But there will still be lots of glitching. Most run perfectly or near, many glitch but were still playable enough to make the cut. I've also been playing PS1 emulation lately, still rather shaky. But as someone else said, 32 bit or over and you start having real trouble. I really like GBA emulation as it feels pretty modern and is near perfect. I also play a lot of SNES and Genesis.

It often depend on what kind of mood I'm in. Sometimes I kinda enjoy getting a questionable game going. Sometimes I just don't want the hassle so play an older game or Xbox game.
  • 30

User avatar
EarthwormJames 6
 
Posts: 770
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2016 9:20 am
Custom Title: Lumbricus Extraterrestris
Reputation: 3467

Re: Emulators do you use them?

Postby kremiso » Sun Mar 18, 2018 10:18 am

TheTechDoc wrote:Older generation systems are fine with things like SNES , NES , megadrive etc, they are basically perfect unless your a speedrunner or someone who's incredibly OCD about perfect 1:1 timing...


some of these emulators can improve all the fun
playing an old game fullscreen on a 1080p display is amazing

many emulators until mmm maybe Gamecube are better than real hardware imo
  • 10

User avatar
kremiso 7
 
Posts: 1140
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2017 10:35 pm
Location: Sardinia, Italy
Custom Title: Nostalgia Generator
Reputation: 18290

Re: Emulators do you use them?

Postby EarthwormJames » Sun Mar 18, 2018 10:27 am

kremiso wrote:some of these emulators can improve all the fun
playing an old game fullscreen on a 1080p display is amazing

Yup, N64 games in 720p is my latest addiction, never would have guessed they would look this good. Even GBA games look surprising good in 720p.
  • 0

User avatar
EarthwormJames 6
 
Posts: 770
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2016 9:20 am
Custom Title: Lumbricus Extraterrestris
Reputation: 3467

Re: Emulators do you use them?

Postby sasapinjic » Sun Mar 18, 2018 11:10 am

Yeah, real thing is great, but nothing wrong with emulators to, especialy when you dont have choice. 8-)
  • 0

User avatar
sasapinjic 13
 
Posts: 4367
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 10:28 am
Location: Somewhere in ex-Yugoslavia
Custom Title: Gafgarion(Penninless Scumbag)
Reputation: 37859

Re: Emulators do you use them?

Postby ZX81v2 » Sun Mar 18, 2018 11:25 am

ePSXe2 is a friggin nightmare to get anything running at 100% with no glitches (IF possible).
However, you can't tie in the whole of emulation due to a shoddy emulator that's not average user friendly.

MAME/MESS/ARCADE/RAINE/Final Burn Alpha - Great Emulators !

You want to play PS2? Spend 20$/£ on a Phat
Spend 25$/£ on a network Adapter
Salvage a IDE HDD
FreeMCBoot Exploit and your laughing !

REAL Hardware is available cheaply.... Blows the fek out of emulation !

Post 8,000!
  • 30

Image
User avatar
ZX81v2 Moderator
 
Posts: 8620
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 6:02 pm
Location: Ladies and Gentlemen, We Are Floating in Space
Custom Title: R Tape Loading Err0r
Reputation: 57466

Re: Emulators do you use them?

Postby ISO_Ninja » Sun Mar 18, 2018 1:36 pm

You'd be surprised how far the emulators have come, so long as you have a good pc.

I just fired up Wrath of Cortex and it plays FLAWLESSLY in PCSX2... opening cutscenes looked great in HD and the first two levels ran beautifully without any glitches or graphics issues.

PSone games run perfect with the pSX emulator.

Sega Saturn runs perfect with Retroarch using the Mednafen core.

Believe it or not, Dolphin runs almost every Wii and GameCube game perfectly.

Demul runs all of the best Dreamcast games at close to perfect or good enough.

CEMU gets most of the best Wii U games going perfect.... all of the big first-party games are so smooth and in 4K if you want, Bayonetta 2 runs at like 98% perfect, really awesome emulator.

Citra runs most of the 3DS games at 90% to 100%.


Really, it's time to just upgrade your pc. All of the money and space needed for real games comes at a much higher cost than the 1:1 downgrade in emulation.

Plus, with emulation, you get to actually play everything! Radiant Silvergun on Saturn, Magical Chase on TG-16, NES World Championships or whatever rare treasure you could never get your hands on.

With the help of this site, you can have the history of gaming inside your computer.
  • 10

User avatar
ISO_Ninja 3
 
Posts: 141
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2015 6:02 pm
Reputation: 620

Re: Emulators do you use them?

Postby HeX4 » Sun Mar 18, 2018 2:02 pm

ISO_Ninja wrote:You'd be surprised how far the emulators have come, so long as you have a good pc.

I just fired up Wrath of Cortex and it plays FLAWLESSLY in PCSX2... opening cutscenes looked great in HD and the first two levels ran beautifully without any glitches or graphics issues.

PSone games run perfect with the pSX emulator.

Sega Saturn runs perfect with Retroarch using the Mednafen core.

Believe it or not, Dolphin runs almost every Wii and GameCube game perfectly.

Demul runs all of the best Dreamcast games at close to perfect or good enough.

CEMU gets most of the best Wii U games going perfect.... all of the big first-party games are so smooth and in 4K if you want, Bayonetta 2 runs at like 98% perfect, really awesome emulator.

Citra runs most of the 3DS games at 90% to 100%.


Really, it's time to just upgrade your pc. All of the money and space needed for real games comes at a much higher cost than the 1:1 downgrade in emulation.

Plus, with emulation, you get to actually play everything! Radiant Silvergun on Saturn, Magical Chase on TG-16, NES World Championships or whatever rare treasure you could never get your hands on.

With the help of this site, you can have the history of gaming inside your computer.


See you do not see what i said, it's not a speed issue, it's not graphics issues, my PC is actually rather powerful.

Image

Oh look it happens to show the awful filter, see how it's massively blurred? i run a 130hz monitor too so it's much more noticeable.

Lack of vibrancy, controls are off in timing and feel..
  • 0

Last edited by HeX4 on Sun Mar 18, 2018 2:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Main computer.
Intel Xeon E5640, 8GB Kingston 1600, ASUS P6X58D-E, AMD R9 Fury.

Console systems.
Playstation 2 Slim with FMCB.
Playstation 3 CECHC03 Rebug 4.82 2000GB
XBOX v1.2/3 EvoX M8+ TSOP 500GB SATA
XBOX v1.4 iND-Bios 5003.67 TSOP 300GB
XBOX v1.4 x2.4981.67 TSOP 8GB
XBOX 360 S Trinity V5 320GB
N64
User avatar
HeX4 4
 
Posts: 335
Joined: Sat May 21, 2016 8:13 am
Custom Title: XBOX Guru PC aficionado
Reputation: 1509

Re: Emulators do you use them?

Postby ZX81v2 » Sun Mar 18, 2018 2:04 pm

What FPS you hit when the "Blur's" happen?

Could be a video plugin issue
  • 0

Image
User avatar
ZX81v2 Moderator
 
Posts: 8620
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 6:02 pm
Location: Ladies and Gentlemen, We Are Floating in Space
Custom Title: R Tape Loading Err0r
Reputation: 57466

Re: Emulators do you use them?

Postby HeX4 » Sun Mar 18, 2018 2:06 pm

ZX81v2 wrote:What FPS you hit when the "Blur's" happen?

Could be a video plugin issue


Solid 60FPS, it is PCSX2 and because the PS2 did field rendering, it's an interlaced render so a terrible blend mode is applied to all PS2 games via PCSX2 but on PS3 or PS2 hardware it's done miles better and is unnoticeable.

The game is in 4x Native res so 2048x1800 or something like that.
  • 0

Main computer.
Intel Xeon E5640, 8GB Kingston 1600, ASUS P6X58D-E, AMD R9 Fury.

Console systems.
Playstation 2 Slim with FMCB.
Playstation 3 CECHC03 Rebug 4.82 2000GB
XBOX v1.2/3 EvoX M8+ TSOP 500GB SATA
XBOX v1.4 iND-Bios 5003.67 TSOP 300GB
XBOX v1.4 x2.4981.67 TSOP 8GB
XBOX 360 S Trinity V5 320GB
N64
User avatar
HeX4 4
 
Posts: 335
Joined: Sat May 21, 2016 8:13 am
Custom Title: XBOX Guru PC aficionado
Reputation: 1509

Re: Emulators do you use them?

Postby ZX81v2 » Sun Mar 18, 2018 2:09 pm

hmm.... Unfortunately I can't offer a solution as I never have any luck with the emulator eather.
  • 0

Image
User avatar
ZX81v2 Moderator
 
Posts: 8620
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 6:02 pm
Location: Ladies and Gentlemen, We Are Floating in Space
Custom Title: R Tape Loading Err0r
Reputation: 57466

Re: Emulators do you use them?

Postby HeX4 » Sun Mar 18, 2018 2:10 pm

ZX81v2 wrote:hmm.... Unfortunately I can't offer a solution as I never have any luck with the emulator eather.


There is nothing wrong that is PCSX2 running "flawlessly" people just cover up how raw and awful it looks by saying it looks amazing because it is upscaled to a higher res lol.
  • 10

Main computer.
Intel Xeon E5640, 8GB Kingston 1600, ASUS P6X58D-E, AMD R9 Fury.

Console systems.
Playstation 2 Slim with FMCB.
Playstation 3 CECHC03 Rebug 4.82 2000GB
XBOX v1.2/3 EvoX M8+ TSOP 500GB SATA
XBOX v1.4 iND-Bios 5003.67 TSOP 300GB
XBOX v1.4 x2.4981.67 TSOP 8GB
XBOX 360 S Trinity V5 320GB
N64
User avatar
HeX4 4
 
Posts: 335
Joined: Sat May 21, 2016 8:13 am
Custom Title: XBOX Guru PC aficionado
Reputation: 1509

Next

Return to General Gaming Chat



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 27 guests



Home | Legal Notice | DMCA Policy | DMCA File Removal Center | Contact