Home
Downloads
Community
Submit
Marketplace

obsessed with xbox 128MB upgrade, machine against human

System Mods, Hard Mods and Soft Mods - Discuss them here.

obsessed with xbox 128MB upgrade, machine against human

Postby Maddglow05 » Fri Apr 20, 2018 8:43 pm

Im on a personal vendetta getting those damn ram chips installed onto an xbox classic, now,
after 2 failed attempts I went for a third but now with much high end equipment.. ain't failing again what I thought to myself.. So let me explain..
The first time I tried the upgrade, I thought to myself.. oh look I read people are doing it with cheap 15watt/20 to 30 euro soldering iron and a bit of patience, how could I ever fail?
Prior to this I have soldered many modchips and RGH'd xbox 360 consoles so I'm not a newbie with a soldering iron.. even tho I cheaped out when I bought my first for about 30€.
After ordering 5 samsung chips from china and waiting what to me felt like 2 russian winters my chips arrived and I gave it a go. The chosen xbox was a 1.2 or 3, I followed Floydzabarber's youtube tutorial to a T which is the only tut in english.
Installed all 4 ram chips properly, previous chips had the right xmas lights.. all went smooth.. until I hooked it all up and booted it.. FRAG.. alright, let's hit those 400 legs one more time.. FRAG.. one more time.. FRAG.. that went so far until I burned off one of the legs.. so the xbox was toast. I thought to myself.. well damn, you live and you learn.
I even counseled beloved isozone.. I had angry responses telling me, If you use a cheap soldering iron, thats what happens. Had no response to that, It was a bitter pill to swallow.

Couple weeks went by and I was willing to try it again, another 1.2 victim. This time I salvaged 4 ram chips from a dead board I had with a heat gun, which is not the best method of doing it but again.. people on the internet were telling me, "yo it's alright, ram upgrade ppfff easyyyyy"