Home
Downloads
Community
Submit
Marketplace

E:CACHE ? What is it good for ?

Having hardware or Software issues with your Xbox console? Ask our experts here!

E:CACHE ? What is it good for ?

Postby Nibbler » Mon Oct 02, 2017 8:46 am

Hi Folks.
I always wondered, what is the E:Cache folder good for. They files are quiet small and dont hold any directory cache information or something like that. I looked at them via a hex editor and i dont get it.
What does this files do ?

If somebody has freezing problems i often hear people say "delete the files in E:Cache"

What is the purpose of this files ? anybody know ?
Greetings & Thanks
  • 0

User avatar
Nibbler 3
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2015 9:53 pm
Custom Title: nam nam nam
Reputation: 140

Re: E:CACHE ? What is it good for ?

Postby mrneo240 » Mon Oct 02, 2017 2:05 pm

games put stuff there to quickly load from. halo2 caches maps there for instance.
  • 0

mrneo240 2
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Sep 12, 2017 7:37 pm
Reputation: 230

Re: E:CACHE ? What is it good for ?

Postby nodots » Mon Oct 02, 2017 8:55 pm

Actually, those files are created by the MS dash. When creating a new HDD, delete those files and then run MS dash to recreate them. It seems to slow down HDD access if it's wrong, and speed up HDD access if it's right.

After deletion, they will only exist again after running MS dash, IIRC.
  • 0

FYI: IDE = Integrated Drive Electronics. This was a huge selling point for HDD's during the '80s. NEARLY ALL DRIVES NOW ARE IDE. IDE drives include: PATA/SATA/CD-ROM/DVD-ROM/BLU-RAY/ZIP/flash, etc. IDE does not mean PATA, even if the salesman tells you it does.
My systems:
Spoiler:
PS3 CECH-2501A (OCT 2010, retail)
PS2 (39001), FHDB 1.94, HDD
PS2 (50001), FMCB 1.94

Xbox 1.0, X2 Duo, 320GB HDD (RAM upgrade soon)
Xbox 1.0, 40GB HDD (nkpatcher 10) (RAM upgrade soon)
Xbox 1.4, 20GB HDD (nkpatcher 10)
Xbox 360 (Falcon, retail)
Humanfly138 wrote:Just completed Saturday.... didn't die once!
Spoiler:
you unlock Sunday difficulty.
User avatar
nodots 5
 
Posts: 433
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2014 10:00 am
Location: LV, NV
Custom Title: Talk nerdy to me!
Reputation: 1652

Re: E:CACHE ? What is it good for ?

Postby Nibbler » Thu Oct 05, 2017 6:44 pm

Hi @ mrneo240.
No, they cache to the X: Y: and Z: drives. Lot of games do that. Ninja Gaiden,DOA 3,DOA Ultimate,Panzer Dragoon Orta ect ect ohhh, and Halo 2 ;)

@ nodots

Exactly. Thanks for the Details. Very Nice.
  • 0

User avatar
Nibbler 3
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2015 9:53 pm
Custom Title: nam nam nam
Reputation: 140


Return to Troubleshooting



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests



Home | Legal Notice | DMCA Policy | DMCA File Removal Center | Contact