Home
Downloads
Community
Submit
Marketplace

So... I Hosed My Freshly Soft-Modded PS2!

Discuss Everything Related to the Playstation 2 Here!

So... I Hosed My Freshly Soft-Modded PS2!

Postby Xylob » Wed Jan 24, 2018 12:35 am

rassin frassin dagnabbit sonofamotherlessgoat.....

Got my PS2 all tweaked up and doing shit it was never intended to, and got cocky...
I had just over 100 games installed and was about to start in on ripping the next batch of my collection to the HDD when I got sick of the whole deal with OPL rebooting the fucking console everytime I quit a game.
So I thought I was on my game and based on some shit I read on the interwebs changed the IGR path to make it return to OPL instead of the damned reboot.
but it didn't work
and it didn't work
and it DIDN'T FUCKING WORK.....
meanwhile it's taking forever to get through all the games to test them and shit - I'm totally losing my patience
and I stumble across a thread here that says you can change the configuration so FMCB will jump straight from its load screen to whatever app you want it to just by holding down a certain button on the controller
SWEET!!!!!!!!!!
First IGR after the change, everything works great.
second, not so much... goes to the normal PS3 browser - where's all my shit???
power off, power on.
goes to the OSDSYS with all the goodies - phew...
IGR and back to the OSDSYS instead of OPL. WTF?
whatever, test next game, IGR, back to normal PS3 browser.
power off, power on - normal PS3 browser
power off, power on - no orange lights this time, normal PS3 browser
shit shit shit shit
power off, power on - no orange lights this time, normal PS3 browser
power off, power on - normal PS3 browser (HDD lights did come on this time, but no joy).

Looks like I'm gonna have to reformat and reimage the HDD and start from scratch.
the joys of softmodding....
  • 0

My systems:
Spoiler:
TurboGrafx-16 (component video mod)
TurboBooster (retired)

SNES (region tabs removed)
N64 + Expansion Pak
Two GCs + 1 Game Boy Player
Wii RVL-001 (soft modded)
Wii-U
DSLite

360

PS2 SCPH-30001 Date Code 1A (soft modded)
PS2 SCPH-30001 Date Code 1C
PS3 CECHA01 + 500GB HDD
PSVita
PSP-2001 (soft modded) + a component video cable(!)

all on a 36" Trinitron Grand VEGA - CRT FTW!
User avatar
Xylob 2
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2018 8:53 pm
Custom Title: Melkor
Reputation: 150

Re: So... I Hosed My Freshly Soft-Modded PS2!

Postby ZX81v2 » Wed Jan 24, 2018 12:39 am

IGR has always been 50/50.....
FMCB Config can get messy fast, you need to check EVERY PATH in E1,E2,E3

This is why I always state : BACKUP FMCB CONFIG TO USB Before messing heavily !
  • 0

PS2 (Phat) + Network Adapter + SATA Bridge + 2TB HDD = Insanity+1 !
Wanna Know More > theisozone.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=75&t=49420&hilit=+sata

FreeMCBoot Installer - OPL 0.8/9 + HDL0.8c
Game Compatibility Checker. WinHIIP User
ZX81v2's MAME/ARCADE Thread Here
FreeMCBoot Install Service "UK" Thread HERE
MY PS2 OPL 0.8 HDD Game Compatibility List Click Here 100% Safe

Latest MESS/MAME Roms : Retroroms.info < NEW SITE !

ImageImageImageImage

If you are/WERE a PS2 Developer please check PS2Home out !
Designed & (C)2013-2017 by ZX81v2
User avatar
ZX81v2 Moderator
 
Posts: 7931
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 6:02 pm
Location: EARTH - SOL System - Mostly Harmless
Custom Title: R Tape Loading Err0r
Reputation: 47581

Re: So... I Hosed My Freshly Soft-Modded PS2!

Postby Xylob » Wed Jan 24, 2018 12:59 am

yeah... it was your post where I found the info about the config change
you specifically stated to back my shit up to the MC or USB first, but I don't have either handy, so I said "what the hell"...
  • 10

My systems:
Spoiler:
TurboGrafx-16 (component video mod)
TurboBooster (retired)

SNES (region tabs removed)
N64 + Expansion Pak
Two GCs + 1 Game Boy Player
Wii RVL-001 (soft modded)
Wii-U
DSLite

360

PS2 SCPH-30001 Date Code 1A (soft modded)
PS2 SCPH-30001 Date Code 1C
PS3 CECHA01 + 500GB HDD
PSVita
PSP-2001 (soft modded) + a component video cable(!)

all on a 36" Trinitron Grand VEGA - CRT FTW!
User avatar
Xylob 2
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2018 8:53 pm
Custom Title: Melkor
Reputation: 150

Re: So... I Hosed My Freshly Soft-Modded PS2!

Postby ZX81v2 » Wed Jan 24, 2018 1:13 am

D'OH!

You Live
You Learn
You Make Backups!
  • 0

PS2 (Phat) + Network Adapter + SATA Bridge + 2TB HDD = Insanity+1 !
Wanna Know More > theisozone.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=75&t=49420&hilit=+sata

FreeMCBoot Installer - OPL 0.8/9 + HDL0.8c
Game Compatibility Checker. WinHIIP User
ZX81v2's MAME/ARCADE Thread Here
FreeMCBoot Install Service "UK" Thread HERE
MY PS2 OPL 0.8 HDD Game Compatibility List Click Here 100% Safe

Latest MESS/MAME Roms : Retroroms.info < NEW SITE !

ImageImageImageImage

If you are/WERE a PS2 Developer please check PS2Home out !
Designed & (C)2013-2017 by ZX81v2
User avatar
ZX81v2 Moderator
 
Posts: 7931
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 6:02 pm
Location: EARTH - SOL System - Mostly Harmless
Custom Title: R Tape Loading Err0r
Reputation: 47581

Re: So... I Hosed My Freshly Soft-Modded PS2!

Postby Xylob » Wed Jan 24, 2018 1:27 am

Step One: remove head from ass...
  • 10

My systems:
Spoiler:
TurboGrafx-16 (component video mod)
TurboBooster (retired)

SNES (region tabs removed)
N64 + Expansion Pak
Two GCs + 1 Game Boy Player
Wii RVL-001 (soft modded)
Wii-U
DSLite

360

PS2 SCPH-30001 Date Code 1A (soft modded)
PS2 SCPH-30001 Date Code 1C
PS3 CECHA01 + 500GB HDD
PSVita
PSP-2001 (soft modded) + a component video cable(!)

all on a 36" Trinitron Grand VEGA - CRT FTW!
User avatar
Xylob 2
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2018 8:53 pm
Custom Title: Melkor
Reputation: 150

Re: So... I Hosed My Freshly Soft-Modded PS2!

Postby mistamontiel » Wed Jan 24, 2018 1:49 am

Is the ingame reset really dangerous ? Frequently I do it

EDIT: Yeh , holding R1 to jump straight to LaunchELF er L1 to jump straight to OPL are a blessing , ah , but the shoulder button elf launching I always had did not need to set . I installed the v1.953 noobie package from USB because loading SwapMagic v3.8 disc with SWAPMAGIC directory and some SWAPMAGIC.ELF in there causes it to quit and load LaunchELF to then proceed to install
  • 0

User avatar
mistamontiel 6
 
Posts: 719
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 8:20 am
Location: Miami, FL, CUBA
Custom Title: ..!!
Reputation: 935

Re: So... I Hosed My Freshly Soft-Modded PS2!

Postby HaloSlayer255 » Wed Jan 24, 2018 3:13 am

ZX81v2 wrote:D'OH!

You Live
You Learn
You Make Backups!


I had a few prime examples, windows 98 hard drive failure ---> no backups all data lost.
Windows Vista gateway desktop ---> drive image not kept current, data mostly lost.

Now I have the following:

x3 2TB External hard drives for blu-ray rips/music/pictures/movies/videos/documents/
user data/music cds ripped to FLAC, etc.

x3 2TB External hard drives for Video Game ROM images, soft-mod files, modchip diagrams, etc.

x3 1TB Hard drives to maintain current drive images of a few desktops and other computers. DVD iso backups, and a sector clone of a multiboot drive.

For anyone interested in the multiboot drive follow this: http://rtechsupport2.wikia.com/wiki/Hit ... _USB_Drive might also want to save that page if you use this. I had trouble finding it again for a while.
  • 0

User avatar
HaloSlayer255 4
 
Posts: 384
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2012 7:19 pm
Custom Title: Corvette Lover
Reputation: 1037

Re: So... I Hosed My Freshly Soft-Modded PS2!

Postby scorpNZ » Wed Jan 24, 2018 3:27 am

Personally i wouldn't bother starting any of the games except my favorites & even then i don't bother as data corruption could be at any point in the game.You'll find out soon enough when you come up against it,while playing through it.It's half the joy of gaming & the excitement & anticipation only to be let down,when the game crashes at that most crucial moment hahaha
  • 0

User avatar
scorpNZ 5
 
Posts: 605
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 6:13 am
Reputation: 1407


Return to PS2 Chat



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests



Home | Legal Notice | DMCA Policy | DMCA File Removal Center | Contact