Home
Downloads
Community
Submit
Marketplace

PS2 FreeMCBoot 1.953 Questions

System Mods, Hard Mods and Soft Mods - Discuss them here.

PS2 FreeMCBoot 1.953 Questions

Postby Doomer022 » Mon Apr 23, 2018 5:10 pm

Okay so i just installed FreeMCBoot 1.953 on my PS2 SLIM PAL. I used an 8 MB official PS2 Memory Card. Everything works fine until i want to play a game. So i have a burned version of Gran Turismo 3, so i tried that one out. The "Sony Computer Entertainment Europe Present" text appears, then nothing. I also tried Penny Racers, but a pink screen appears, then nothing else.

How can i fix this to run my games on it? (I used Sony DVD+R Discs)
If i have to Re-Burn my games will the new dvds read the old save files? (I spent 7 months to get to 80% on Gran Turismo 3 so please work)
  • 0

User avatar
Doomer022 2
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2017 1:53 pm
Custom Title: Petrol-Headed Gaskit
Reputation: 50

Re: PS2 FreeMCBoot 1.953 Questions

Postby Seear » Mon Apr 23, 2018 5:21 pm

I don't have a freemcboot ps2 at the moment but how I understand it is you have to select an option to play a backup/other region game. It is not automatic.
  • 0

Hey there, I started a discord for discussion of console mods in voice and text chat. Come check us out - https://discord.gg/TRBp4AM
User avatar
Seear 2
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2017 4:36 pm
Location: Vermont
Reputation: 70

Re: PS2 FreeMCBoot 1.953 Questions

Postby ZX81v2 » Mon Apr 23, 2018 5:21 pm

....So your using ESR Patched game images and using ESR from FMCB package to load them?

What model Slim are you using?

Unless your console is chipped you need the FMCB card plugged in - Works from SLOT 2 btw
  • 0

Image
User avatar
ZX81v2 Moderator
 
Posts: 8763
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 6:02 pm
Location: Ladies and Gentlemen, We Are Floating in Space
Custom Title: R Tape Loading Err0r
Reputation: 58826

Re: PS2 FreeMCBoot 1.953 Questions

Postby Doomer022 » Mon Apr 23, 2018 5:29 pm

No im not using ESR Patched game images because they are really old and those DVDs played perfectly on my mod chip but now the mod chip doesnt work somehow since KonzolokServize replaced my laser because the laser broke. I dont know why, but it happened. (Its also a Modbo Chip)

Also my PS2 SLIM PAL is SCPH79004 7D
  • 0

User avatar
Doomer022 2
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2017 1:53 pm
Custom Title: Petrol-Headed Gaskit
Reputation: 50

Re: PS2 FreeMCBoot 1.953 Questions

Postby ZX81v2 » Mon Apr 23, 2018 5:47 pm

Right, since your CHIP ain't working, the only way to load games from disk is via ESR.
Old or not. The image patch program works.
You need to fake the disk images to apear as DVD MOVIE disks to boot from ESR, the disks contents list as
AUDIO_TS
VIDEO_TS

^^ this is a PATCHED Result. If you can read the contents of the image mounted on PC, it's not patched.

Only other method you could try is by using a USB External HDD on PS2 and use images on the drive rather than burning/using DVD Drive
  • 10

Image
User avatar
ZX81v2 Moderator
 
Posts: 8763
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 6:02 pm
Location: Ladies and Gentlemen, We Are Floating in Space
Custom Title: R Tape Loading Err0r
Reputation: 58826

Re: PS2 FreeMCBoot 1.953 Questions

Postby Doomer022 » Mon Apr 23, 2018 5:51 pm

Yeah i do have a USB External HDD. And what if i copied all the files from my Gran Turismo 3 Disc onto the HDD and then i plug it into the PS2? Will it run fine and be able to load savegames or not?
  • 0

User avatar
Doomer022 2
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2017 1:53 pm
Custom Title: Petrol-Headed Gaskit
Reputation: 50

Re: PS2 FreeMCBoot 1.953 Questions

Postby Seear » Mon Apr 23, 2018 5:55 pm

I don't know if usb 1.0 will be able to read and write that fast.
  • 0

Hey there, I started a discord for discussion of console mods in voice and text chat. Come check us out - https://discord.gg/TRBp4AM
User avatar
Seear 2
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2017 4:36 pm
Location: Vermont
Reputation: 70

Re: PS2 FreeMCBoot 1.953 Questions

Postby RUNDEN » Mon Apr 23, 2018 6:10 pm

You can copy all of the game as an ISO without patching to an external HDD, or a big enough USB drive, and you will be able to open this from OPL. From OPL you can choose to use the memory card with the save data on,or you can make a virtual memory card to keep everything backed up
  • 0

Spoiler:
Systems:
Sega Mega Drive - Model 1 (Launch unit) - EverDrive w/512mb SD card
Sega Saturn - MK 80211-52 - VCD card, Action Replay 4M Plus (4MB)
Sony PlayStation - SCPH-5002 - Game Enhancer 9 parrallel card
Sony PlayStation 2 - SCPH-30003R - Segate 160GB HDD w/ FHDB 1.9.5
Dell Dimension R400 - Pentium II 400Mhz, 64mb ram, Geforce II ti 32mb, 50GB hdd, Windows 2000
IBM T61 - Core 2 Duo T7500 2.5Ghz, 4gb ram, nVidia Go 8400m 256mb, 500GB hdd, Windows Longhorn
User avatar
RUNDEN 2
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Jun 18, 2017 8:53 pm
Location: Seden, Fyn, Denmark
Custom Title: DAYYYYTOOOONNNNAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA LET'S GOOOO AWAY
Reputation: 80

Re: PS2 FreeMCBoot 1.953 Questions

Postby Doomer022 » Mon Apr 23, 2018 6:25 pm

Okay so if im correct, i have to pack the game disc content into an ISO file, then put it onto a HDD or USB, then run it from Open PS2 Loader, and somehow setting OPL to load game saves for the game from my memory card. Am i correct? I know im pretty bad at these kind of things :P

If im wrong, can you please tell me step by step what to do? Thanks for your answer, and im real happy that people help me out in this bad situation im in right now! But i dont think i understood all of it.Thanks again tho! :D
  • 0

User avatar
Doomer022 2
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2017 1:53 pm
Custom Title: Petrol-Headed Gaskit
Reputation: 50

Re: PS2 FreeMCBoot 1.953 Questions

Postby Dildo_Schwaggins » Mon Apr 23, 2018 6:30 pm

Have you checked the ESR compatibility list... I usually get a pink screen on non compatible games. Sometimes red.

EDIT - It appears that it works with ESR, so either you messed up the ISO, or your ps2 is not reading games that well.

Im gonna try it just to see what happens
  • 0

Last edited by Dildo_Schwaggins on Mon Apr 23, 2018 6:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Dildo_Schwaggins 5
 
Posts: 444
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2017 5:59 am
Reputation: 987

Re: PS2 FreeMCBoot 1.953 Questions

Postby Doomer022 » Mon Apr 23, 2018 6:34 pm

Yeah i got pink screen with Penny Racers and red with Test Drive Unlimited...of course my favourite games dont work :( also Gran Turismo 3 gets a flashy bright blue screen and then nothing. Weird!
  • 0

User avatar
Doomer022 2
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2017 1:53 pm
Custom Title: Petrol-Headed Gaskit
Reputation: 50

Re: PS2 FreeMCBoot 1.953 Questions

Postby Dildo_Schwaggins » Mon Apr 23, 2018 6:40 pm

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/ ... NThro/pub#

I don't see either of those games tested however gran tourismo 3 is supposed to work.
There seem to be a couple different versions of gt3
  • 0

User avatar
Dildo_Schwaggins 5
 
Posts: 444
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2017 5:59 am
Reputation: 987

Re: PS2 FreeMCBoot 1.953 Questions

Postby Doomer022 » Mon Apr 23, 2018 6:46 pm

Its weird because i tried the Sega Classics Collection too, but nothing happened.
So what are all the possibilities from here?
Should i do what RUNDEN told me?
Should i get my discs and pack their content into an ISO then running them with OPL from a HDD or USB?
  • 0

User avatar
Doomer022 2
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2017 1:53 pm
Custom Title: Petrol-Headed Gaskit
Reputation: 50

Re: PS2 FreeMCBoot 1.953 Questions

Postby Gamerone » Mon Apr 23, 2018 6:50 pm

If you can't get those games to work with esr, this is another way. swap magic elf.

http://www.theisozone.com/downloads/pla ... -with-esr/
  • 0

I'M ONE WHO LIKES TO PLAY GAMES™
MY UPLOADS


Image
SPY VS SPY
User avatar
Gamerone 5
 
Posts: 649
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2016 10:29 pm
Reputation: 5573

Re: PS2 FreeMCBoot 1.953 Questions

Postby Doomer022 » Mon Apr 23, 2018 6:58 pm

Thats awesome man! Thanks! Ill try it out tomorrow! :D
  • 0

User avatar
Doomer022 2
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2017 1:53 pm
Custom Title: Petrol-Headed Gaskit
Reputation: 50

Re: PS2 FreeMCBoot 1.953 Questions

Postby Dildo_Schwaggins » Mon Apr 23, 2018 6:59 pm

you can't really use a HDD with ps2 slim. Because the usb speed is too slow.

you can order a swap magic from china for 9 dollars. but you will also need flip top lid
  • 0

User avatar
Dildo_Schwaggins 5
 
Posts: 444
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2017 5:59 am
Reputation: 987

Re: PS2 FreeMCBoot 1.953 Questions

Postby rawman024 » Mon Apr 23, 2018 7:47 pm

Best bet is to esr patch your game then burn it to a disc. Then at ps2 menu screen choose esr and it should launch. USB is slow and swap magic costs money and can be long wait to get it if from china. You can get esr patcher here http://www.theisozone.com/downloads/playstation/tools/esr-disc-patcher-gui-v024a-usa/. You take game iso image and patch it with that program then put it in ps2 and choose esr and game should load. As ZX81v2 said it tricks ps2 into thinking it is a movie and not a burned game. Best of luck.
  • 10

My systems
Spoiler:
PC: amd-fx 8370 with 2 rx-480 radeon graphics cards
orig xbox softmodded with 2 tb hdd replaced clock capacitor with battery (built several for family members)
ps2 slim
2x ps2 phat with free hdboot 1 sata 1 pata (built several for family members)
ps1
ps1 hardmodded
original nes
User avatar
rawman024 3
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2016 7:54 am
Location: Universe A
Reputation: 1822

Re: PS2 FreeMCBoot 1.953 Questions

Postby Tupakaveli » Mon Apr 23, 2018 8:05 pm

You'd be better off playing games via SMB with a slim rather than USB.
  • 10

Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
User avatar
Tupakaveli 4
 
Posts: 218
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2015 9:05 am
Location: South Australia, Australia
Custom Title: Go Vegan
Reputation: 1042

Re: PS2 FreeMCBoot 1.953 Questions

Postby Dildo_Schwaggins » Mon Apr 23, 2018 9:11 pm

yep gran tourismo 3: a-spec, v1.10 ntsc, won't boot with ESR. I'm getting a black screen.
  • 10

User avatar
Dildo_Schwaggins 5
 
Posts: 444
Joined: Tue Sep 26, 2017 5:59 am
Reputation: 987

Re: PS2 FreeMCBoot 1.953 Questions

Postby sasapinjic » Mon Apr 23, 2018 9:36 pm

Seems to me that your laser is not very good , and that together with DVD+R discs (which ps2 dont like) make problems to you . Also , for to load games on FMCB soft modded ps2 ,you must patch them with ESR patch first .
Check third link in my signature for tips how to burn ps2 games.

Another thing , seems to me that service screwed you !
If mod chip worked before and now dont , they screw it or stole it , if laser is worse now , they screw you .
I had similar case , where service i give my ps2 to change laser screw me by taking out my chip that was able to load all ps1 and ps2 games , and inserting chip that can load only ps2 games (that or they switch my motherboard with one with diferent chip ) .
Take that ps2 back to them and dont give up until they reverse what theh have done .

As for your old save game files , as long you burn same region game you used before , save file will work just fine .
  • 20

User avatar
sasapinjic 13
 
Posts: 4418
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 10:28 am
Location: Somewhere in ex-Yugoslavia
Custom Title: Gafgarion(Penninless Scumbag)
Reputation: 38289

Next

Return to System Modding



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests



Home | Legal Notice | DMCA Policy | DMCA File Removal Center | Contact