Home
Downloads
Community
Submit
Marketplace

Retro Desktop and Current Desktop?

Retro Desktop and Current Desktop?

Postby Muz » Wed Jul 11, 2018 8:54 am

I have purchased a Windows 98 SE retro desktop, but my desk only fit 2 computers. I feel confuse, how should I use my computers? It is like quite confuse to switch desktop between web browse and play old games. Current desktop is Windows 7.
  • 0

Muz 2
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2018 7:52 pm
Reputation: 79

Re: Retro Desktop and Current Desktop?

Postby sasapinjic » Wed Jul 11, 2018 12:32 pm

Your post is pretty confusing to .

You have 2 computers but your desk fits only 2 computers ? Unless if you want to fit naked strip dancer to , by your explanation , you are fine .

And if you meant your table CANT fit both , get one more desk or replace that you have for bigger that can fit two PC .

Example i get when i Google :
"desktop for 2 PC images"

Image

Use Google for such simple things , i beg you , it is not that hard .

Or ask Google guy :

  • 10

User avatar
sasapinjic 13
 
Posts: 4368
Joined: Mon Sep 03, 2012 10:28 am
Location: Somewhere in ex-Yugoslavia
Custom Title: Gafgarion(Penninless Scumbag)
Reputation: 37899

Re: Retro Desktop and Current Desktop?

Postby CBThatGuy » Wed Jul 11, 2018 12:47 pm

You could also get a KVM switch box. That way you only need one set of controls and monitor(s).
  • 10

Atari 2600
NES, SNES (Everdrive), SupaBoy, Wii (softmod), WiiU
Sega Nomad, Genesis (Everdrive), Dreamcast
Playstation 1 (chipped), 2 (HDLoader), 3 & 4
Xbox (Xecuter 3), Xbox 360 (drive mod)
Game Boy Color, PSP (CFW), PSTV, & DS (Acekard2i), 3DS (modded)
Turbografx 16 (Everdrive)
User avatar
CBThatGuy 5
 
Posts: 437
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2014 7:11 pm
Location: R'lyeh
Reputation: 2500

Re: Retro Desktop and Current Desktop?

Postby cody1638 » Wed Jul 11, 2018 12:57 pm

i have my modern pc sitting on top of my old machine. keep a 2nd kb and mouse hidden away in a drawer
  • 0

User avatar
cody1638 4
 
Posts: 249
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 9:34 am
Reputation: 1100

Re: Retro Desktop and Current Desktop?

Postby polyfusion » Wed Jul 11, 2018 2:07 pm

Could you hide the retro PC away somewhere, connect it to your network, and remote desktop to it from your main PC through the network?

I've done this with a dual-screen setup on my main PC, have the remote desktop on one of them, and main desktop on the other, but it's doable with one monitor.
  • 0

polyfusion 2
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2018 9:57 am
Reputation: 160

Re: Retro Desktop and Current Desktop?

Postby CBThatGuy » Wed Jul 11, 2018 2:30 pm

I set mine up in another room. I have a desk with my newer desktop set up and in another room I have a 2005 Dell Latitude d610 running Windows 98, which I use for retro gaming.
  • 0

Atari 2600
NES, SNES (Everdrive), SupaBoy, Wii (softmod), WiiU
Sega Nomad, Genesis (Everdrive), Dreamcast
Playstation 1 (chipped), 2 (HDLoader), 3 & 4
Xbox (Xecuter 3), Xbox 360 (drive mod)
Game Boy Color, PSP (CFW), PSTV, & DS (Acekard2i), 3DS (modded)
Turbografx 16 (Everdrive)
User avatar
CBThatGuy 5
 
Posts: 437
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2014 7:11 pm
Location: R'lyeh
Reputation: 2500

Re: Retro Desktop and Current Desktop?

Postby erik1977 » Wed Jul 11, 2018 11:03 pm

sasapinjic wrote:Unless if you want to fit naked strip dancer to

:shock: :lol:

Get a KVM switch to switch between the 2 PCs using one keyboard and mouse. Or get another little table to put your towers or another monitor on if you don't have the space.
  • 0

Systems I currently own:

Spoiler:
Playstation (modchip)
Xbox 360 slim
PS3 slim

Gaming PCs:

Win7 x64 desktop (Athlon II X2 250 3ghz, 2gb ram, Radeon x1650 512mb)
WinXP desktop (Athlon XP 2800+ 2.1ghz, 2gb ram, Radeon X800GTO 256mb)
Win98SE desktop (Pentium 3 550mhz, 320mb ram, Geforce TI4200 128mb, 3DFX Voodoo 2 12mb)
Win95 desktop (Pentium 133mhz, 40mb ram, Matrox Mystique 4mb, 3DFX Voodoo 2 8mb)
Win95 laptop (Pentium 166MMX, 32mb ram)
DOS 6.22 laptop (486DX2 50mhz, 8mb ram)
User avatar
erik1977 7
 
Posts: 1125
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2014 6:56 pm
Reputation: 4933

Re: Retro Desktop and Current Desktop?

Postby Muz » Fri Jul 13, 2018 7:10 am

Does KVM Switch works with old Operating System?
  • 0

Muz 2
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2018 7:52 pm
Reputation: 79


Return to Gadgets & Technology



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests



Home | Legal Notice | DMCA Policy | DMCA File Removal Center | Contact