Home
Downloads
Community
Submit
Marketplace

XBOX Gamepad tester - won't display

Having hardware or Software issues with your Xbox console? Ask our experts here!

XBOX Gamepad tester - won't display

Postby polyfusion » Sun May 27, 2018 1:44 pm

Have a funny problem with the XBox gamepad testers, for example,

http://www.theisozone.com/downloads/xbo ... ad-tester/

Here's what happens...

When I load the program, the menu page loads ok (Test Launch Menu Ver. 1.0), and if I select the first option, "Gamepad", it loads that ok, and I can test the buttons, move from page to page, and so on.

However, if I select any other option from the menu page, I get a black page, and my TV eventually says no signal.

Now I know I have gotten at the very least, the "Zero Slot Controller Test" page to load up before, and when I select it now, it must somehow be loading, because as I recall, the first test is the left trigger test, and when I pull the left trigger, it will activate, and then when it goes through the full scale 0-100% for the left trigger, it switches to the right trigger, and it becomes active, but I just don't get video to the screen.

I've tried numberous combinations of settings in the video settings of UnleashX, but no difference. I've also tried with an old CRT and both using SCART and composite, but it still behaves the same.

Any idea what's going on?
  • 0

polyfusion 2
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2018 9:57 am
Reputation: 140

Re: XBOX Gamepad tester - won't display

Postby eugenerobinhood1 » Sun May 27, 2018 8:40 pm

Try this game pad test app, I've never had a problem with it.
http://frd.li/38408046050423f6c458190d8ec00deb
  • 0

User avatar
eugenerobinhood1 Moderator
 
Posts: 2772
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2014 11:19 am
Custom Title: TIZ Rocks!
Reputation: 39961

Re: XBOX Gamepad tester - won't display

Postby polyfusion » Sun May 27, 2018 9:01 pm

Thanks for the link, I hadn't tried that archive, but it only has the same gamepad tester pages as the other archives I've tried, which are the only pages that work in those other archives.

The other archives include a menu where you can select that gamepad tester page, along with several other pages that also test the MU, and other stress tests.

The difference between the gamepad tester page in your archive, and the "Zero Slot Controller Test" page is that the page brings you through a specific set of tests in sequence, to test the controller and then at the ends says whether the controller passed or failed. Whereas the gamepad tester page in your archive lets you test the controller through several pages.

I'm really stumped as to why it won't work like before.
  • 0

polyfusion 2
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2018 9:57 am
Reputation: 140

Re: XBOX Gamepad tester - won't display

Postby eugenerobinhood1 » Sun May 27, 2018 9:23 pm

I'll try this one out and see what happens.
http://www.theisozone.com/downloads/xbo ... ad-tester/
  • 0

User avatar
eugenerobinhood1 Moderator
 
Posts: 2772
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2014 11:19 am
Custom Title: TIZ Rocks!
Reputation: 39961

Re: XBOX Gamepad tester - won't display

Postby SeaNec » Sun May 27, 2018 9:28 pm

eugenerobinhood1 wrote:I'll try this one out and see what happens.
http://www.theisozone.com/downloads/xbo ... ad-tester/

Actually that is the one he has been trying.

polyfusion, clear the cache.
More info here:
http://theisozone.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=10943

(read it carefully)
  • 0

SeaNec 3
 
Posts: 152
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 11:13 pm
Reputation: 755

Re: XBOX Gamepad tester - won't display

Postby eugenerobinhood1 » Sun May 27, 2018 9:34 pm

I just tried the program and it works fine on my X-Box, my X-Box is NTSC.
It went through all of the tests with out an issue, but I'm using a mod chip with EvoX and XBMC as my dash. Try installing XBMC as your dash this maybe the problem.
  • 0

User avatar
eugenerobinhood1 Moderator
 
Posts: 2772
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2014 11:19 am
Custom Title: TIZ Rocks!
Reputation: 39961

Re: XBOX Gamepad tester - won't display

Postby polyfusion » Wed May 30, 2018 11:48 am

Deleted the cache as per linked thread, but I still can't get the other test pages to load.

This system I'm trying to get it running on is a PAL, with a softmod, a v1.2 or 1.3, IIRC.

I think I had it working on a different XBox, a v1.0, but I know it wasn't working on that recently, since the hard drive was upgraded, but I still have the previous hard drive that was in that one, so will see if I can get it working on that hard drive.

Maybe it has something to do with the dash thats running...

I'll report back my findings.
  • 0

polyfusion 2
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Feb 03, 2018 9:57 am
Reputation: 140


Return to Troubleshooting



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests



Home | Legal Notice | DMCA Policy | DMCA File Removal Center | Contact