Home
Downloads
Community
Submit
Marketplace

Modbo 5.0 Installation on PS2 SCPH-77001... school me!

System Mods, Hard Mods and Soft Mods - Discuss them here.

Modbo 5.0 Installation on PS2 SCPH-77001... school me!

Postby Conversus_W_Vans » Sat Jan 13, 2018 4:45 pm

Hi all! I'm new to this system modding thing as I've got a project ahead of me. I have a SCPH-77001 PS2 slim (NTSC one) that I got for an insane deal at a Salvation Army last year ($5). The system reads discs pretty fine although it's physically scratched up top and bottom. I recently acquired a Modbo v5.0 chip off eBay because I didn't find swapping discs to play backups/imports very reliable.

Who on here has a 77001 (V15) model? If so, could you show me a full diagram of the actual motherboard so I can know exact wiring spots? I heard there were different motherboards on some V15 models, is that correct? I'm not sure what mine's got but I found a somewhat helpful YouTube video by MrMario2011 that was done on the exact model, but he installed Modbo v4.0.
Here's what I've got on me so far: https://imgur.com/a/nPEXT (my system & modchip)

I feel aware about all the tools I need since the eBay listing gave them out, but what have you used as far as wires? They recommend 30 AWG, but is there a good brand I can buy at Home Depot or Lowe's?

Sorry if my questions catch you off guard; very new to system modding and would love some schooling on it. I see of this as more of a fun project because I've never done any wiring or soldering work in my 21 years of living.

Conversus_W_Vans 2

Re: Modbo 5.0 Installation on PS2 SCPH-77001... school me!

Postby kaos_engr » Sat Jan 13, 2018 5:37 pm

You won't find 30AWG wire-wrap/kynar insulated hook-up wire at Lowe's or Home Depot.

You'll need to try electronics parts suppliers like Mouser, Digi-key or Jameco.

White insulator: https://www.mouser.com/Wire-Cable/Hook- ... poZ1yth3w2

It comes in many different colors.