Home
Downloads
Community
Submit
Marketplace

GPU ERROR message how to fix

GPU ERROR message how to fix

Postby dreamcast459 » Fri Feb 17, 2017 7:04 am

ok so while playing doom 2016 for say 12 mins the game closed out and i got this message

Display driver nvlddmkm stopped responding and has successfully recovered

heres my specs

win 7 pro 64 bit
xeon w3565 stock speeds
475 watt psu with 38A on the 12 volt rails
16 gig ddr3 ram
evga gtx 960 SSC 2gig gpu any ideas

im stumped did some googling and it looks like it might be a windows related error but im still lost

havent played the game since this error message so cant say if it will repeat or not

should also mention the pc is hooked up to my led tv also when i boot the pc it seems to have a delayed post
  • 0

sucessfull trade with ware-wolf my youtube channel https://www.youtube.com/user/4599kane/videos
MMO's that i play star trek online and shot online

systems i own
dreamcast
saturn chip modded
N64
sega game gear
orig-xbox
xbox360
User avatar
dreamcast459 9
 
Posts: 2979
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 10:24 am
Location: usa arizona
Reputation: 3811

Re: GPU ERROR message how to fix

Postby scorpNZ » Fri Feb 17, 2017 7:28 am

One guy fixed it by switching to ATi others were lucky by trial & error & then others still couldn't find a solution.So most probably start with the basics & start cleaning & re-seating & then even more googling.
Also see if there's any restore points to before this issue appeared


http://www.instructables.com/id/How-to- ... mkm-Error/
  • 0

message of the month
Got an issue with stereo boom sound neighbour ?
Start a chainsaw & cut some wood.
scorp ! mood killing since before you were born
Image
User avatar
scorpNZ 4
 
Posts: 327
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 6:13 am
Reputation: 575

Re: GPU ERROR message how to fix

Postby dreamcast459 » Fri Feb 17, 2017 7:31 am

im gonna wait till tomorrow morning and when i get up first thing ill do is make sure the gpu is seated properly in the pcie slot then play the game and see if it happens again
  • 0

sucessfull trade with ware-wolf my youtube channel https://www.youtube.com/user/4599kane/videos
MMO's that i play star trek online and shot online

systems i own
dreamcast
saturn chip modded
N64
sega game gear
orig-xbox
xbox360
User avatar
dreamcast459 9
 
Posts: 2979
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 10:24 am
Location: usa arizona
Reputation: 3811

Re: GPU ERROR message how to fix

Postby MasterOfAll » Fri Feb 17, 2017 7:56 am

Have you upgraded to the latest version of drivers for the card? (Always make it do a fresh install, not just an express install)

Are you using internal power extensions for the card? Like molex to 6-pin. Those sort of things?
  • 0

User avatar
MasterOfAll 8
 
Posts: 1756
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2015 4:54 pm
Reputation: 8402

Re: GPU ERROR message how to fix

Postby dreamcast459 » Fri Feb 17, 2017 8:02 am

i did a fresh driver install as well as im using a pcie power connector that comes from the psu
  • 0

sucessfull trade with ware-wolf my youtube channel https://www.youtube.com/user/4599kane/videos
MMO's that i play star trek online and shot online

systems i own
dreamcast
saturn chip modded
N64
sega game gear
orig-xbox
xbox360
User avatar
dreamcast459 9
 
Posts: 2979
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 10:24 am
Location: usa arizona
Reputation: 3811

Re: GPU ERROR message how to fix

Postby Tupakaveli » Fri Feb 17, 2017 8:10 am

I had this keep happening on an emulation pc I built, turned out to be a couple of bulging caps on the mobo.
  • 0

Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
User avatar
Tupakaveli 3
 
Posts: 102
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2015 9:05 am
Location: South Australia, Australia
Custom Title: Go Vegan
Reputation: 370

Re: GPU ERROR message how to fix

Postby dreamcast459 » Fri Feb 17, 2017 8:25 am

my mobo is fine this is the first time it has happened and all the caps look fine
  • 0

sucessfull trade with ware-wolf my youtube channel https://www.youtube.com/user/4599kane/videos
MMO's that i play star trek online and shot online

systems i own
dreamcast
saturn chip modded
N64
sega game gear
orig-xbox
xbox360
User avatar
dreamcast459 9
 
Posts: 2979
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 10:24 am
Location: usa arizona
Reputation: 3811

Re: GPU ERROR message how to fix

Postby Tupakaveli » Fri Feb 17, 2017 8:29 am

Cool, just mentioned it because it's worth checking.

Maybe try playing again and see if it happens, or even try rolling back the gpu drivers / using beta drivers.
  • 0

Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
User avatar
Tupakaveli 3
 
Posts: 102
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2015 9:05 am
Location: South Australia, Australia
Custom Title: Go Vegan
Reputation: 370

Re: GPU ERROR message how to fix

Postby dreamcast459 » Fri Feb 17, 2017 8:36 am

tomorrow im gonna check to make sure the gpu is seated properly and go from there
  • 0

sucessfull trade with ware-wolf my youtube channel https://www.youtube.com/user/4599kane/videos
MMO's that i play star trek online and shot online

systems i own
dreamcast
saturn chip modded
N64
sega game gear
orig-xbox
xbox360
User avatar
dreamcast459 9
 
Posts: 2979
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 10:24 am
Location: usa arizona
Reputation: 3811

Re: GPU ERROR message how to fix

Postby oldxbox75 » Fri Feb 17, 2017 8:40 am

I had this Error continually pop up on Left4Dead 1+2

Eventually solved issue myself after Vigorous searching and asking around to no answer.

The Fix was to install DX9
run game in XP mode as admin
Disable Desktop Composition ? (under compatibility)
Then under game setting set resolution slightly lower same with color depth
also set sound rate lower as this chews RAM Fast and eventually conflicts with GPU Driver as there is nothing left for it to cache back onto.!

See if you can try any / all of the above it may help.!
  • 0

User avatar
oldxbox75 5
 
Posts: 567
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2014 2:00 pm
Reputation: 1453

Re: GPU ERROR message how to fix

Postby dreamcast459 » Fri Feb 17, 2017 8:43 am

doom 4 will only run on windows 7 or above so no go there
  • 0

sucessfull trade with ware-wolf my youtube channel https://www.youtube.com/user/4599kane/videos
MMO's that i play star trek online and shot online

systems i own
dreamcast
saturn chip modded
N64
sega game gear
orig-xbox
xbox360
User avatar
dreamcast459 9
 
Posts: 2979
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 10:24 am
Location: usa arizona
Reputation: 3811

Re: GPU ERROR message how to fix

Postby MasterOfAll » Fri Feb 17, 2017 8:47 am

Have you tried changing the settings in Doom for so it's using OpenGL instead of DirectX?
  • 0

User avatar
MasterOfAll 8
 
Posts: 1756
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2015 4:54 pm
Reputation: 8402

Re: GPU ERROR message how to fix

Postby dreamcast459 » Fri Feb 17, 2017 8:56 am

nvidia geforce experience recommended vulkan api instead of opengl for maximum performance

geforce experience optimized doom 4 automatically for me based on the specs of my pc and chose vulkan api
  • 0

sucessfull trade with ware-wolf my youtube channel https://www.youtube.com/user/4599kane/videos
MMO's that i play star trek online and shot online

systems i own
dreamcast
saturn chip modded
N64
sega game gear
orig-xbox
xbox360
User avatar
dreamcast459 9
 
Posts: 2979
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 10:24 am
Location: usa arizona
Reputation: 3811

Re: GPU ERROR message how to fix

Postby MasterOfAll » Fri Feb 17, 2017 9:05 am

Changing it over, wouldn't do any harm. And if it makes the game work, then that's better than getting errors.

And, I'm sorry, but with your setup, you're not going to see a difference apart with frame rate. (OpenGL will actually give you higher fps)

Don't always believe what GEO says either.
  • 0

User avatar
MasterOfAll 8
 
Posts: 1756
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2015 4:54 pm
Reputation: 8402

Re: GPU ERROR message how to fix

Postby Randummy1 » Fri Feb 17, 2017 9:30 am

dreamcast459 wrote:ok so while playing doom 2016 for say 12 mins the game closed out and i got this message

Display driver nvlddmkm stopped responding and has successfully recovered

heres my specs

win 7 pro 64 bit
xeon w3565 stock speeds
475 watt psu with 38A on the 12 volt rails
16 gig ddr3 ram
evga gtx 960 SSC 2gig gpu any ideas

im stumped did some googling and it looks like it might be a windows related error but im still lost

havent played the game since this error message so cant say if it will repeat or not

should also mention the pc is hooked up to my led tv also when i boot the pc it seems to have a delayed post


Personally I never use Geforce Experience and I noticed your power supply may be ( ? ) a little light. I Googled gpu and got this.
Required Power Supply 400 W

Try maybe something in maybe a 750w range just for the hell of it.
  • 0

Successfully traded with Vga for PS2 Softmod Kit.
User avatar
Randummy1 5
 
Posts: 466
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2012 3:03 am
Location: I live in Rando Zone where they like me there.
Custom Title: Dinosaur farting dust bunnies :)
Reputation: 2020

Re: GPU ERROR message how to fix

Postby dreamcast459 » Fri Feb 17, 2017 6:18 pm

played it for a SOLID TEN MINS AND DIDNT GET THE ERROR IM GONNA LOOK INTO UPGRADING TO A MORE POWERFUL psu JUST TO BE SAFE
  • 0

sucessfull trade with ware-wolf my youtube channel https://www.youtube.com/user/4599kane/videos
MMO's that i play star trek online and shot online

systems i own
dreamcast
saturn chip modded
N64
sega game gear
orig-xbox
xbox360
User avatar
dreamcast459 9
 
Posts: 2979
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 10:24 am
Location: usa arizona
Reputation: 3811

Re: GPU ERROR message how to fix

Postby scorpNZ » Fri Feb 17, 2017 6:43 pm

Before you go spending money think about what your next dream computer will be like & buy the power supply required to run it,this way it'll save having to buy another later or not
  • 10

message of the month
Got an issue with stereo boom sound neighbour ?
Start a chainsaw & cut some wood.
scorp ! mood killing since before you were born
Image
User avatar
scorpNZ 4
 
Posts: 327
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 6:13 am
Reputation: 575

Re: GPU ERROR message how to fix

Postby dreamcast459 » Fri Feb 17, 2017 7:04 pm

thanks i think i will stick with the 960 for now and buy a beefy psu
  • 0

sucessfull trade with ware-wolf my youtube channel https://www.youtube.com/user/4599kane/videos
MMO's that i play star trek online and shot online

systems i own
dreamcast
saturn chip modded
N64
sega game gear
orig-xbox
xbox360
User avatar
dreamcast459 9
 
Posts: 2979
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 10:24 am
Location: usa arizona
Reputation: 3811

Re: GPU ERROR message how to fix

Postby MasterOfAll » Sat Feb 18, 2017 8:07 am

dreamcast459 wrote:thanks i think i will stick with the 960 for now and buy a beefy psu


You say this, but then send me a PM asking if getting a 280X for $60 is worth while.

If it works, yes it is. Will it work any better, yes it will. Will it work any better on your system? I doubt it.

Your PSU, motherboard, CPU, memory are all bottle necking your system, for what "you" want it to do.

You want a computer with some power behind it. You're only going to get that, if you save up for it. There is no short cut.
  • 0

User avatar
MasterOfAll 8
 
Posts: 1756
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2015 4:54 pm
Reputation: 8402

Re: GPU ERROR message how to fix

Postby dreamcast459 » Sat Feb 18, 2017 8:20 am

thanks i will keep all of this in mind
  • 0

sucessfull trade with ware-wolf my youtube channel https://www.youtube.com/user/4599kane/videos
MMO's that i play star trek online and shot online

systems i own
dreamcast
saturn chip modded
N64
sega game gear
orig-xbox
xbox360
User avatar
dreamcast459 9
 
Posts: 2979
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 10:24 am
Location: usa arizona
Reputation: 3811

Next

Return to Gadgets & Technology



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests



Home | Legal Notice | DMCA Policy | DMCA File Removal Center | Contact